What's new

First time honing

So i bought my first set of hones and have been working with them. I killed the edge on a gold dollar I have to see if I could bring it back up. I failed horrible and cannot figure out what I am doing wrong.

I tried setting bevel and cannot seem to get it set. It wont pass the HHT test not matter how much I try. I've changed my pressure from a lot to a little and nothing seems to work. Any thoughts?

Welcome Robby.

Sorry to hear about your razor (At least it wasn't the most expensive straight). I'm sure you're just getting closer to nailing it.

I have limited knowledge regarding straights and know nothing about honing, but there are many other helpful members who I am sure can shed more light. I'd recommend posting this question in the "Straight Razors/Honing" section - which can be found here

Hi Robby, welcome.

First, congrats on starting your venture in honing, it can be very satisfying. You did not mention which hones you are using. You will get a lot more advice and response if you post here; Hones/Honing

Slash McCoy

I freehand dog rockets
There is absolutely no reason to "kill" the edge. It serves zero purpose. Just hone. Don't "unhone".

What model GD?

Pics would help.

The classic series Gold Dollars, i.e. #66 through #800, can be pretty wonky. They are ground by folks who have never even shaved with a straight razor. Who have never shaved at all, in many cases, I am sure. They are paid per razor, I imagine, not by the hour. You are gonna get MOSTLY pretty badly ground razors. The steel is perfectly okay, but you have to walk the extra mile in honing.