What's new

First straight razor shave, but with a Sextoblade

I've been looking forward to this shave. It did not go well and my 26 year bloodless streak is over. Yes folks, my skin does bleed (hen I got my tattoo two years ago, the artist asked me why I don't bleed when getting inked)

First pass WTG: went easier then I thought. No blood at all. Shaving the right side of my face felt natural, but shaving the left side felt awkward with my right hand, and even more awkward with my left. Couldn't get a comfortable grip.

Second pass XTG: this is hard. My face has angles, tight skin, and not much give. Poked myself twice with the sharp point. First blood! Not a cut, and not a weeper. What do you call a poke? I'm going to round off the sharp points on the disposable blades since real straights don't have them.

Third pass ATG: I should have listened to everyone and stopped at the first pass while I build up my technique, but since I survived the second pass, I'm an expert now, right? Plus ATG is just WTG in the other direction, so no jaw and neck angles to deal with. Hahaha! First stroke gave me a 1" cut. I'm done!

Finished the shave with the Little Soldier, used alum to disinfect the cut, and rubbed it all over my face. Stinging everywhere. Broke out the medicated witch hazel, and finished with CL Colonia Balsamica balm. My face still hurts.

Definitely not giving up. Till we meet again, Mr. Sextoblade ...
proxy.php

Someone else that learned the hard way to build their technique before getting cocky! :001_tt2: (I did the same thing...)

Congrats on your first semi-success! Keep at it, but take it a bit slower, you will get it. I've found that a bit of stropping can help the edge on a Sextoblade just like it will for a straight. And trust me, some straights have points that are way more wicked than what is on a Weck or Personna blade.