What's new

First straight razor purchase.

Hey guys, I'm new to straight shaving and I'm trying to get some info on a blade I just purchased. Reading B&B led me to april7th1989 on ebay. I bought a Favorit 750 which seems to be in great condition.

What I'm asking is if anyone knows the blades origin/manufacturer and maybe general age? I'm waiting for it to be delivered and plan to update the post with some pics. If they are bad blades then it's no biggie, since It only ran me $60, and its for me to get started with something other than the shavette I've been using. Thanks in advance :p

Favorit are great, very fine hollow ground razors, it will certainly "sing" when you use it. Not sure on age, but a nice razor all the same.

Awesome, I've read people calling them "Tanifuji", so I wonder if they're a type of knock-off or even Japanese.

They are made in the same place as tanifuji razors, they are Japanese. They are not a knock off, I've usually found Japanese razors to be the most consistently high quality. That razor is likely going be fantastic. I've bought from April7th1989 before, the edge comes decently sharp. I prefer to touch them up just a bit, but it will probably be sharp enough to get you out the gate with straight razor shaving.

These are the pics from the seller. Crack by the pin but was assured its stable, and I can get new scales later on.

Attachments

• razor 4.jpg
    razor 4.jpg
    258.1 KB · Views: 48
  • razor 3.jpg
    razor 3.jpg
    183.3 KB · Views: 55
  • razor 2.jpg
    razor 2.jpg
    210.1 KB · Views: 55
  • razor 1.jpg
    razor 1.jpg
    315.8 KB · Views: 55