What's new

First steps tomorrow

Hello all,
My name is Mitch and I am new to the brown leaf section of badger and blade. I have been a member of this site for now 3years. This place started my wet shaving experience which has just now turned into straight razor shaving and most likely honing. I am younger only 24, I first started on cigarettes then American dip then swedish snus. Now all that stuff is behind me and I am thoroughly interested in pipe smoking. In a world where everything is about speed I like these hobbies for the relaxation. Taking a step back and respecting everything around you. Pipe smoking just seems like a great way to embrace that, it is also deeply inherited in our history and that just fascinates me. Luckily I have a B&M by me. I will be going for a MM corn cob and maybe a mid road pipe tomorrow. Something in the 60-70$ range. Anybody have any suggestions? Also any suggestions on tobacco? Thanks for all the information I have already learned from this forum and yet again taking me into a new hobby... starting to think you can never have to many.

Kentos

B&B's Dr. Doolittle.
Staff member
Hey Mitch welcome!

Smoking a pipe is similar to straight shaving IMO in that it takes practice to get good at it. I think a MM corn cob is a perfect pipe to start with, and would suggest you wait on the midroad pipe for now. Add a few dollars to the 70.00 and you are in Savinelli territory.

Tobacco tastes vary greatly and my favorite might be your least liked. That being said ribbon cut that comes nice and dry out the tin might be best to start with. My easiest to smoke tobacco is Old Joe Krantz.