What's new

First Shave with Mitchelle's Wool Fat Soap!

I'm pretty new to wet shaving, about 2 weeks in and I am already hooked. I ordered a puck of MWF about 2 days ago and received it today. Been using Proraso since I've started and liked it but wanted to try something new. I couldn't wait to try the MWF, so soon as I got home I got to it. Must say it was one of the best shaves ever. The smell is very mild but an amazingly fresh scent that lingers on your face and on your hands well beyond your shave. Most posts I've read about MWF talk about how it is hard to lather but I didn't seem to have any problems with that. The lather was thick and slick which made the the blade glide nicely and allow for a really close shave. This was my third shave with an Astra SP and it still cuts well. The astra is my favorite blade so far but haven't tried to many. Tossed it after this shave because I am still working on my sample pack and want to narrow down to just a few blades.

I currently have the following blades left to try:

Shark
Gillette 7 O'Clock
Blue Bird
Derby
Feather

Think I will try the 7'Oclock next but what do you think?

Happy Shaving! :001_cool:

I think at the end of the sample pack you will want to use the Feathers, this is, without any question, a blade you want to try once or twice at least.
Once if you do like them, then you don't "try" anymore, you simply know.
Twice if you don't like them at first: one time at the end of the sample pack and again after a few months, after your technique has greatly improved.
IMO you need to have tried 3 soaps as well that are good and not to expensive, you have just tried 1 of them:

1. MWF
2. Tabac
3. Cella

El-a-Menthol ,