What's new

First shave with a Feather AC

Having recently taken possession of a non folding feather AC SS straight, I had my first shave with it today, I am comfortable with my prep and lather, as I have been using a DE for a couple of months, with good results and improving with every shave.

Today's effort with the feather was about what I expected, I have quite a tough beard, so went with the pro super blades, which I believe are the most aggressive for the AC series, got nice results on my cheeks and neck, even attempting XTG on the cheeks. The problem area is and always has been my chin, I have quite an angular chin with a cleft etc and I ended up with a few nicks and cuts around the chin and the shave was nowhere near smooth around that area.

I don't have any real experience with straights, I have a best quality Dovo, which I used once when it was probably not shave ready (new from factory) I'm waiting on some lapping film as I want to try my hand at honing it with film.

I guess the learning curve on the straights is a lot steeper than the transition from cart to DE, which I found relatively straight forward.

Any tips on tackling the chin area would be appreciated or in fact any tips on the feather razors would be welcomed, I know I've a long way to go, so hope it's just a case of hanging in there and using the styptic for now :)

Has anyone used the pro guard blades? and if so would you recommend them? Thank you guys!

The pro guard blades do help allot. Go very light on the pressure. I also found it easy to practice with the Feather by turning to blade upside down and learning the moves that way, just practice taking the lather off no more pressure then that.