What's new

First R41 Shave - Best Shave Ever

But I did pay a small price in irritation. I'm a relative newbie here on B&B, but at 64 years old am not a new shaver. I returned to DE about 9 months ago.

Received my new R-41 from Connaught yesterday ($37 including shipping); 11 days after placing the order. I used it for the first time this morning for my "Sunday go to meetin'" shave. Prepped with a hot shower and my home made pre-shave oil. Face lathererd using Opus 1870 from a tube and gave this bad boy a whirl. Connaught sent a 5 pack of Gillette 7 O'clocks (yellows) with the razor so I loaded it up with one of them.

I treated the R41 with the respect it deserved - slow short strokes. Wow, what feedback from the sound of the blade taking off the whiskers. I did feel some irritation on second pass - probably need to take more care on the re-lathering. Only two small nicks on a usual trouble spot on the side of my chin. I really need to pull the skin over there to smooth out some 64 year old wrinkles. So the nicks were not the fault of the razor - more user error. With this blade exposure I really had to take my time and be extra mindful of the no pressure rule.

I usually do four passes. After two with the R-41 I was feeling a bit of irritation (but a smooth shave) on all but the sides of my cheek so I did a 3rd pass (ATG) on the cheeks and nowhere else.

Final result is outstanding. I have never had a face this smooth after adolesence. I hit the face with Witch Hazel and that pretty much took care of the nicks (no styptic required). Quite a bit of burn all over my face with application of Pinaud A/S. Nivea balm quieted that down though. I'm thinking I won't need to shave again until Wednesday!