What's new

First post and razor recommendation

Hi everyone

I was searching for tips on how to clean my razor from built up soap residue the other day and stumbled on the B&B forum by accident. This is really a great place!

I've been whet-shaving for 15 years or so but started using a safety razor about three years ago. Back then I had some issues with ingrown hairs and looking back the safety razor has really made a big difference giving me a nicer shave.

The kit I use is an edwin jagger badger brush and a merkur 34c with feather blades. This has been a really good start but I find the merkur to be way to gentle and normally need 4 passes to get a clean shave. I find the merkur de travel razor to be way more aggressive but too small to use on a daily basis. Do you have any suggestions on a new razor about the aggressiveness as the travel razor? (and please don't say a 1930's gilette new. I'm not really in to ebay since the hunting takes a lot of time and you never know what you end up with)

Cheers

Welcome to the club. Glad to have you aboard. If the travel razor pleases you, why not get a longer handle for it? The head must be a standard size to accommodate a razor blade, and almost all razors will take a standard handle. You could probably get a nice Classic or Bulldog handle from Weber razors to fit it, or you could use the handle from the Merkur 34c.

Hi,

thanks for the welcome and rapid replies! -This must be the fastest and friendliest forum I've visited yet!

Thanks for the tip on weber - I will certainly look into their razors!

I had no idea that the merkur heads were identical! They behave very different from each other so I simply assumed that they were of different design. The blade feels more enclosed in the 34c and more exposed with the travel razor.