What's new

First Low and Slow on the Keg. The Results!

I posted a few days ago that I was going to try a low and slow on the Broil King Keg.
I ended up choosing a beef blade roast. I put on some rub I made up from a recipe I found online.
I set up the Keg with a plate to diffuse the heat and lit the lump. I did not add any wood chunks for smoke because my target audience (my family) does not like smoke flavour.
Let the keg come up to about 50* below target temp and I adjusted the draft and exhaust vents.

I let the keg stabilise a bit and put on the meat.
Set up the thermometers (Maverick is awesome) and closed the lid.

Now you have to remember this is my first attempt at low and slow on this thing.
The temperature seemed to be good at about 255* then it started to climb.
It topped out at 289* so I started to fiddle with the draft and exhaust.
I remember reading that the adjustments should be very small. Just a tap on the vents and let it go for 30 minutes before making any other adjustments to see how it reacts.

I had temperature fluctuations all day long from 240* to 290* but not rapid spikes. It was slow and steady climbs and falls. I found it very difficult to hold back from fiddling with the vents.

Let's look at a picture of the rig and then more of me yakin'

$IMG_0335.jpg

Ok so I am aware of the "stall" and while it did start to slow at about 160* it did not completely stall out. It did slow a lot but not what I would call a true stall. So in about 6 hours the internal temperature was at 185*. Here's what it looked like at that point. Yummy!!

$IMG_0337.jpg

I was 2 hours early. I had no idea it would cook in only 6 hours! I really didn't have a clue how long it would take. Especially since I couldn't keep the temperature from fluctuating.