What's new

First face-lather; Harris Arlington stick.

This morning I hadn't the time to do my pre-shave shower-prep, so I tried my first face lather, using my D. R. Harris Arlington soap stick. I rubbed the dampened stick over my wet face, then went at it with my badger brush. Fantastic aroma, in the classic-cologne family. The lather wasn't too thick, but had great slickness and enough cushion. My brush had enough for two passes and touch-up. Quick DFS.

I'll never quit bowl-lathering; I like it too much and the lather is superior and plentiful. But for a hasty good shave (or for traveling) I think I've found an excellent substitute.

Did I do it right?

with DR Harris, you can do No Wrong!
Congrats! And many more happy shaves!

proxy.php

Love Arlington soap. Just about to finish a puck of Mikes Naturals, and i'll be adding fresh puck of DR Harris Arlington into the rotation...

With only one face-lather under my belt, I'm no expert. But when I bowl-lather, I get lots more lather, thicker and better. And warm from my heated bowl. I definitely will be trying more face-lathering, just to test it out, and then I'll know more about its possibilities. But I do love my bowl lathers.

TexLaw

Fussy Evil Genius
Congratulations on your success!

I also prefer bowl lathering, also, but I face lather from time to time and enjoy that, as well.

Using a shave stick is only a little different. Just remember to load your face like you're loading your brush, and you're all set!

I don't find face lathering quicker. I spend time getting the quality of lather I want. And I believe that all that time spent with my brush working my face is time well spent.

I always start out on the dry side, knowing a can add water as needed.

If your lather wasn't all that think then I guarantee you could do better the next time you feel moved to try.