What's new

First dozen SR shaves and no major scarring!

Up until very recently, shaving has been a necessary evil. A drudgery. The weekly shaving routine amounted to three days with a cartridge razor (whatever was on sale at Costco) three days with the electric razor (done while half asleep) and one day without shaving. Then a not so funny thing happened. COVID-19. I found myself with lots of time on my hands. The first month I grew a beard. Then I bought a straight razor and shaved it all off.

I then discovered the Badger and Blade. I’m a changed man. Cartridge and electric razors, sacrilege! Seven shaves a week wasted! My morning routine has taken on new meaning. This is time for private contemplation. An opportunity to perfect my straight blade stroke. Serene moments stropping today's SR. If I could shave three times a day, I would! But wait, wait, I’m getting ahead of myself. I’m new at this game. I would like to say I’m a seasoned pro after a dozen shaves but reality mocks me. At the moment two days shaving requires one day to heal before the next shave. One pass, covering about 95% of my whiskers and only two nicks, is a success. This morning my 19-year-old son popped into the bathroom and exclaimed “Dad! you cut yourself” There was a four-inch trickle of blood running down the length of my neck. “It’s just a nick. Only one. This is my best shave yet!”

I would like to think that all you seasoned vets, suffered through a stage of overwhelming enthusiasm and less than impressive SR skills. No one gets to a BBS shave easily, right? Just because you’re not yet great with an SR blade doesn’t mean you’re not a man. It takes a lot of courage to cozy up to an SR when your still navigating which way the edge is pointing. The way I see it is, if anyone who says they have achieved a BBS shave in their first 20 SR shaves, must have a very small penis.