What's new

First DE Safety Razor Shave - Terrific!

I decided about a week ago to finally go ahead and after all these years to get a DE Safety Razor. A friend just got one extolling the inexpensive nature of the blades versus the traditional Gillette Mach3. Since I shave every day that really gets expensive, even when I buy the bulk lots at Costco. So, I went on Amazon, picked out a couple of items, a Parker 96R long handle razor (love the butterfly opening!), some soap from the Mens Soap Co., a bowl, and a box of extra blades (forget the type at the moment). It all arrived yesterday, which I immediately spent 2-3 hours watching youtube videos of guys shaving. My wife was laughing at me for a while, but she was behind this all the way, even actively looking to replace my fathers old brush before I even had put a blade in the razor.

Now, I've been shaving with a blade for close to 30 years. I've used electric maybe less than 20 times in my life (I do have one, just in case) and I was pleasantly surprised how natural the razor felt this morning. Against advise of one Youtube reviewer, I decided to do a triple pass, lathering up each time. My one trouble area (which seems to have sprouted up only recently, or perhaps I've gotten pickier?) was basically eliminated. No cuts, no razor burn, nothing but a smooth clean shave. I can definitely see the need for an aftershave though (the missus already ordered me some) and used some witch hazel the wife had. I've had a barber give me a straight razor shave before and I was not impressed. This safety razor was very relaxing, calming and therapeutic, and probably the best shave I've ever gotten in my life.

Next week a new brush, stand, and some pre-shave come. I think I'm in trouble!