What's new

First Badger Splurge: Tulip T3 Super or Chubby 1 Super

Tulip T3 vs Chubby 1

• Tulip T3

• Chubby 1

• Other

Results are only viewable after voting.
Hello all, I've been using a Simpsons 46 Berkeley for the last 2+ years after shaving with a an art of shaving... travel brush... for the first year. Needless to say it was a huge step up. At the time I was trying to decide between it and a Duke 2, and even though I love my Berkeley, I think a Duke 2 in best would've made a better daily.

Now I'm ready to step up again and am looking for a Simpsons in super, as I don't always enjoy the mild scritch that the Berkeley's best hair gives off. I face lather exclusively and am looking to avoid going full fledged lather hog thus I have narrowed the list down to the CH1 and the T3, both in Super.

Help me decide/any other suggestions in the price range (including the T2 and T4, Dukes, etc.)

I don’t have a T3, but can heartily recommend the CH1 in super. I have found the CH1 in super, the Duke 3 in best, and the Classic 2 in best to all be great. The best in my Wee Scot is more scritchy and the Case I bought in best was too scritchy and I disposed of it and ended up with a Major in Super for travel. Long story short, my limited experience with Simpson super is great, and the best in the larger knots excellent with the smaller best knots more scritchy. I don’t believe Simpson’s will validate my experience.

One additional factor to keep in mind is that the Chubby handle is not tall and you may get some excess lather on your hand, not a big deal for me, but be aware of the short handle.

I’ve owned many Simpson brushes, but just now have one, the CH2 in “best”, form one of the “good” batches. Personally, I would opt for “other” and go with either a Shavemac 2-band silvertip (not the DO1) in a fan (24/48 is perfect!), a Paladin, or one of Rudy Vey’s new 2-band Manchurians. Just my 2 cents, FWIW.