What's new

Feather double edge v straight

Hello

I previously shaved with a dovo straight but stopped as stropping the razor was too much for me. I then moved to a double edge which I liked but irritated my neck - it turns out I was using too steep an angle. I went back to cartridge razors for a while but have decided to come back to wet shaving.

I am trying to choose between a feather double edge razor or a feather Japanese style shavette.

Of course the DE technique is much easier and so I might prefer to go that way but my question is, with each razor similarly priced, will one give me a considerably cleaner or less irritating shave than the other?

thanks!

I have extensive experience with both razors.
The SS shavette is my daily driver. Haven't used anything else since August. For me, it provides a gentle, generally smooth shave. It's a lot harder to master, though. The Feather AS-D2 is a wonderful, smooth shaver and would probably suit a higher percentage of shavers than the shavette would.

Having said that, for me, at least, the SS with a Schick Proline blade is the keeper.

Thanks kingfisher, that’s very helpful. I probably should have thought that not many people will use both and so I suppose open the question up to a more general, all things being equal does a straight produce a closer shave than a DE?
It appears that, like most things, it comes down to personal preference.

Thanks kingfisher, that’s very helpful. I probably should have thought that not many people will use both and so I suppose open the question up to a more general, all things being equal does a straight produce a closer shave than a DE?
It appears that, like most things, it comes down to personal preference.
I don't think a straight produces a closer shave (although many will disagree with me). I actually think it's possible to get a closer shave with a DE.