What's new

Favorite 1/2 DE blade for Focus Slim?

Just got my first shavette today: a green aluminum Focus Slim. Any tips on what snapped half blade to start with? I have some experience with traditional straights, so I’m not too worried about shredding my face. But not sure whether to start with one of my DE favorites (Nacet, 7 O’clock yellow) or something milder (Dorco, Derby).

Thanks for any guidance!

Actually I find DE blades to be too short for a shavette for my liking. For some reason they just seem more interested in cutting my skin as opposed to my stubble.

In answer to your question though, I suspect that whatever works well in a DE razor should also be fine for your shavette. Among my shavettes is the Dovo in which I am using the Dovo long blades. These are basically a DE blade that is double length.

My recomendation is to choose comfort first. Half DE shavettes can be scary compared to Feather style and Straight Razors (this last one I don't have any experience with).
I don't have the Focus Slim, my half DE shavette is a KureNai and I enjoy shaving with it.
I don't have a lot of experience with it but the blades I tend to favor are in the middle of efficiency, Derby Usta and recently tried Bolzano with very good results.
I did try a Derby Extra and I remember being pleasantly surprised by the comfort but wasn't quite there in efficiency. This is a blade I want to revisit as I have a little more experience now.

Old Hippie

Somewhere between 61 and dead
I have a Parker SRX but am also interested to hear your thoughts on the Focus.

Part of my motivation for picking up the Parker was that I have a lot of Astra SP blades. My favourite! I've come to agree with what others have said: a blade that works well in a DE razor may not work well in a shavette or barber razor. But out in the country with a box of Astras; what are ya gonna do?