What's new

Fatip Piccolo SE vs Parker 111w

Hy people,

I am new at this forum in sense of being active member, but I have red numbers of your posts and threads, and I always enjoy reading your experiences and thoughts concerning classic shaving. In my opinion, this is definitely the best forum about classic shaving. So, as first, I want to say hello to all of you people.

The reason I decided to write this thread is to share some of my experiences and (might be subjective) thoughts with you, and maybe help someone who is in some dilemma regarding those razors.

I’ve been using DE razors for about two years. My first, and until few days the only DE razor was Parker 111w, a great 3 piece closed comb antique looking razor. 111w is pretty aggressive razor, giving you feel of being shaved with shavette, very efficient and most of times all that was needed for shave close to BBS was two passes WTG, and sometimes (when paired with fresh feather blade) the only one pass WTG would be sufficient for a very good shave (I have pretty coarse facial hair). My only problem with this razor was its head being made of zamak, and since day one, the plating on threads was not perfect (overall finish and plating on that razor is excellent) so, after each shave, I have been disassembling and cleaning the razor just to try to prolong its life span. I was so happy with this Parker, I was thinking about purchasing another, just to have spare head in case this one breaks.

But then, I decided to go different way and purchased Fatip piccolo SE and Muhle 103r (haven’t tried yet :D ). I decided to try Fatip first.