What's new

Fake Pinaud Bay Rum?

Hi everyone,

I know it sounds ridiculous, but I wanted to check if my bottle of Pinaud Bay Rum was counterfeit in any way. Mainly, some of the ingredients on the back of the bottle are misspelled when compared to the online ingredients list and bottles I’ve seen online. For example, “Cinnamal Alcohol” instead of Cinnamyl Alcohol, and “Eugerol” instead of Eugenol.

I don’t know why fakes of an affordable product like Pinaud Bay Rum would exist, but you never know! This is my first time getting this aftershave, so I have no idea if it smells like it’s supposed to. Thanks for the help!

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    975.9 KB · Views: 78
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    987.6 KB · Views: 79
Why not e-mail them and ask?

Just sent them an email. I’ll let you all know what they say. I still would find it hard to believe that someone out there thinks Pinaud Bay Rum is enough of a cash grab to counterfeit.

luvmysuper

My elbows leak
Staff member
Could be an older vs newer version, where ingredients listing requirements have changed.
Dismiss the idea that cheap things aren't counterfeited though.
If it's profitable to counterfeit a 15 cent razor blade, then anything is game.
My bet is on older/newer versions though.

So clubman responded…somewhat inconclusively, but with some more interesting news.

They didn’t confirm whether it was counterfeit. However, I’ve since gotten a reputable bottle, and it smells identical. So, I’m fairly confident it’s just a strange labeling case.