What's new

Face v Bowl Lather

This isn't about a court case, I'm curious about how people feel about face lathering versus bowl lathering. The bowl category includes scuttles. I used to be an insistent face latherer, but now I'm leaning toward scuttles and bowls. How do folks justify one over the other?

I justify the bowl because I'm a newbie and can't get a good face lather going. I can make a nice lather in the bowl though so I just do it

I started off using a bowl and then went to a scuttle and did this for over 50 years. About five years ago I tried face lathering and liked it. Now I face lather about 90% of the time. I found that I could see and feel the slickness of the lather when I put it on my face. An added benefit was that cleanup was faster since there was no bowl or scuttle to clean.

I split the difference and face lather but use a brush scuttle to keep my lather warm between passes. My brush scuttle isn't big enough to build a lather, and is small enough that a fully loaded 26mm brush creates a suction strong enough to pick the inner bowl up out of the outer bowl lol.

Works great.

Chan Eil Whiskers

Fumbling about.
Face lathering is immoral but I can't stop myself.jpg

Generally I bowl lather with the big boar brushes when I want to zone out, relax, listen to some podcasts or music. I face lather when I just want to shave and not deal with cleaning. It's what I did when I shaved out of necessity.

Most of my shaving during summer in the garden is with FL. Now indoors in the winter it's almost exclusively BL. Not sure which will suit me best with MWF during FFFMM 2019, but I'll give both a go.

I'm a cold water shaver, so I don't have a scuttle.

I like to bowl lather. I heat the bowl up in a sink of hot water and the warm lather it makes is nice. I’ve tried face lathering thinking it would save some time, but I really Think it doesn’t matter. If I’m in a hurry, I just grab the tube of Cremo.