What's new

Ezra Arthur Strop

I am new to wet shaving and stropping. I purchased a nice Dovo razor and a Ezra Arthur Bershire strop. I received the strop. It was folded up in the shipping box. When I took it out, it had a lot of stretch marks where the bend was. Being new, I didn't know this was bad. So, I allowed it to hand for a while, then used it thinking it would smooth out and be fine. But it never did and my razor was not getting sharp and smooth as I thought it should be. I really was giving up on the whole straight razor thing.

Along comes this site and the forums. I read where stratch marks are bad and the better strops should not have them. So, I emailed Ezra Arthur with what had happend including the pictures I attached to this post.

They responded with an apology and staited they are sending a new strop to me this week. They responded to my email quickly. I will follow up with how long it takes to get the new strop and it's condition. If they send it out quickly and it is in excellant condition, I would applaud their service, even though the original strop was in poor condition upon receipt.

I just wanted to share this newbie experience and the responsive service I received from Ezra. I hope they follow through.

Attachments

• JPEG_20200420_232334_556929020134450605.jpg
    JPEG_20200420_232334_556929020134450605.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 77
  • JPEG_20200420_232404_7537095266804951828.jpg
    JPEG_20200420_232404_7537095266804951828.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 78
How was it folded up? It should be folded up (preferably rolled) with the stropping surface of the leather facing out. If it was folded with the stropping surface facing inwards, wrinkles can result.

Glad to hear that they are sending a replacement. But if they're rolling the pieces with the stropping surfaces facing in, they need to be notified about this. (Some people will roll the strop with the stropping surface in thinking that this will help to protect it.)