What's new

Experimenting with Fat-Handled Tech and 1940's Super Speed

JCinPA

The Lather Maestro
Well, I had settled into a boring routine of just using the Merkur 34C, 7 O'Clock SP (black) blades, and about 3 lather products daily for about 5 years. I guess the bloom was off the rose as a new shaver and I had burned out on all the razor, blade, lather buying madness, and needed to settle in for a while. But I came back, and started playing with soaps, at first but then realized I never learned to like my Cooncat Bob New Long comb (too aggressive), so I sold that and then started reading about the love for Techs and Super Speeds here, and often from THE most experienced shavers on the forum.

So, I got on the 'bay and snagged both of these classics, and a '74 (I think) Schick Adjustable just because that and Barbasol was what I started shaving with in high school, and that was the year I graduated. Anyhoo, here are the suspects:

tech.jpg

Tech2.jpg

superspeed.jpg

SS2.jpg

Schick.jpg

Well, shave number one in next post!

Nice razors and good photos, too. Can't wait to hear how things work out.

Wouda killed for that Cooncat Bob LC New, though. Dang! Back in the day I lusted over them but never hit the "buy" button.

JCinPA

The Lather Maestro
Shave #1 Tech review

Well, I put Post #2 in for a place holder to put the shave in, and apparently Edit ability times out in 45 minutes. Ooops.

Shave #1 on the Tech

Pre: Shower
Razor: Gillette fat handled tech
Blade: 7 O.Clock black, 3rd shave
Brush: B&B Omega boar anniversary
Soap: Cella (r)
After shave: Thayer's WH, followed by Cella (red)

Anyhoo, first shave on the Tech. I have a sampler of sharp blades to try, but I've heard folks say try a new razor with your current blade first to get a feel for it, so today I shaved with my normal blade on its 3rd shave. I do remove the blade and dip it in 91% alcohol after the shave and dry it with a tissue, so it was still pretty good.