What's new

Employer wants me to work overnights I don't want to any thoughts

I work in retail and I am part of a 3 person department that takes care of displays, resets of merchandise and some misc. We are behind on tasks so my managers manager want us to work overnights until we get caught up. The reason we are behind has to do with several factors that are out of our control at the store level. They are thinking 4 to 6 weeks which might be less but probable longer. When we work overnight we are paid the same as during the day no extra benefit for us to screw up our life.

I do not think that overnights are that productive. I have been on 1 week overnight (9pm - 6am) projects in the past and have seen inefficiencies. Most of the people on the team start to hit a wall about 3 am and as the week drags on 15 minute breaks become 30 minutes. They say that without customers in the store we can get more done but if the employees are only working about 6 instead of 8 hours I do not see the plus. I have also seen employees that have injured themselves because the are not as alert, thankfully most have been minor.

My personal problems for not liking overnights is that is screws with my body. I do not like to eat after 7 pm. My eating habits go to hell. Also about 2 years ago I was diagnosed with a health issue which I need to take drugs daily to help get under control. Not the end of the world but I am not as young as I used to be. Last year while I was doing some week long over night projects I felt off after the week and it took awhile to get back to normal. I think it was because of my medications and not getting a good nights sleep.

I am going to contact my Dr. and ask him it is just in my head or do overnights have an adverse effect on my well being.