What's new

Economic Brush shootout – Boar (Omega) vs. Horse (Vie-Long) vs. Badger (Whipped Dog)

Gentlemen I would like to review some of the most loved economical brushes out there – and also compare the three brush hair types.

I would like to acknowledge bosseb's wonderful brush reviews – especially this one:

http://badgerandblade.com/vb/showthread.php/397957-Big-brushes-shootout-(pic-heavy)

Disclaimer: I am no expert when it comes to brushes, especially when it comes to badger and horse hair - I see myself more at an advanced starting point of my brush discovery journey. But since I have used each of these brushes for a while now, I think I am able to point out their respective differences.

I am also sorry for the poor action shoots – I use mostly my phone camera in the bathroom.

I have been wetshaving for more than 2 years and have mainly used boar brushes (Omega 49, Omega 20102, Omega Bambino, B&B Essential boar, Semogue Owners Club, Semogue 2000), 3 badger brushes (Edwin Jagger Medium in Best, Whipped Dog 24mm Silvertip, Whipped Dog 24mm High Mountain) and one horse (Vie-Long 12705B).

$All3FrontS.jpg
Vie-Long12705B, Omega 49, Whipped Dog Silvertip

Why have I chosen (and before that bought) these 3 brushes for this review?
The Omega 49 is my favourite boar brush – hands down. Fortunately (or unfortunately?) this was also my first boar. At that time I was using the EJ, which was OK, but didn't excite me – but the Omega blew me away in terms of lather production and scrub. I thought, that I am a boar lover and badgers are overrated (and too expensive).

I got the Vie-Long 1270B to experience a horse brush – and again didn't want to spend too much. This model has a white, untreated knot, that consists of 50% Mane/50% Tail hair – which is supposedly softer than knots with brown hair, consisting of more tail hair.