What's new

DR Harris Lavender Soap

I’ve been using DR Harris soaps for several years and like them. Recently while at Mertz in Chicago I picked up their Lavender soap. The smell kinda smelled like a sweet MWF to my nose.
I have always struggled with shaving daily and even every other day for a long time. It seems that I just can’t recover fast enough and I have a slow growing beard as well.
This Lavender soap shocked the heck out of me. I got an effortless, near BBS 2 pass shave with absolutely no irritation. So I decided to try it again the next day and same results. This is the first soap/cream that lets me shave so close every day. I’m really impressed.
I went back to my other DRH soaps (Windsor and Marlborough) and my Tabac and just could not shave without irritation daily, not sure why.
Since I still have the DRH Lavender box I looked at the ingredients. It has Sodium Tallowate as the 1st ingredient followed by Potassium Stearate and Sodium Stearate. I believe this is different from the other soaps and might be why this stuff lathers so nicely and performs outstanding.
Does anyone know this formulation is normal for their Lavender?
This is the first DRH soap I used that lathers much differently than the others...and in a good way.

Attachments

• DD0F49EA-D4A6-40AD-AFFA-C76DB549C4F7.jpeg
    DD0F49EA-D4A6-40AD-AFFA-C76DB549C4F7.jpeg
    909.5 KB · Views: 49
Those are the ingredients for DR Harris soaps, including lavender. Not all lavender soaps contain the same ingredients.

Like you, I find all of DR Harris soaps to be top tier making a great lather.

Below is list of ingredients for mine, purchased last week from Canadian retailer.
Don't have box for my Almond, which I purchased several months ago, but cannot tell any difference in performance between the two - both excellent soaps for me. You are correct about no irritation, these (again for me) offer great glide and protection and work great with DE as well as straights.

IMG_20181028_164007~2.jpg