What's new

Does your favorite razor still give you irritation? But you still use it and live with it?

I've been wet-shaving since 2013. Usually a daily shaver. My favorite combo is a Schick G8 (with Chinese made Schick blade) or a Gillette Blue Tip (with Astra Superior Platinum blade) with a tallow-based soap usually. One pass ATG (hard to shave sideways on cheek and neck so I go North to South and call it done.)

However I still notice irritation on some days that keeps coming back, mainly itchy bumps like I used to get with my Gillette Fusion. It's not severe but I wish it didn't happen. It's probably angle mishaps or bad technique on some days. I'm starting to realize it just may be what I have to live with.

Do others experience this with their favorite kit and just live with it regardless, damn the consequences? I've been going around and around in my mind what to do so it helps just to talk about it to someone who understands.

Not even sure what I am asking, haha!

Brother Leo,

I can't imagine getting irritation from a Gillette Blue Tip razor. That's about as mild a razor there is. Suggest you do some experimenting with different blades. Also try some different soaps, including non-tallow.

I presume you've already experimented with differing angles and pressures?

I'm not a fan of shaving oil, but you might also experiment with rubbing in a little shaving oil thoroughly into the skin before lathering and shaving.

Let's see what others suggest. Let us know how it goes. This much is certain: A razor that routinely gives irritation should not be a favorite razor.

Brother Leo,

I can't imagine getting irritation from a Gillette Blue Tip razor. That's about as mild a razor there is. Suggest you do some experimenting with different blades. Also try some different soaps, including non-tallow.

I presume you've already experimented with differing angles and pressures?