What's new

Does everyone let the weight of the razor do the work?

Does the saying "let the weight of the razor do the work" apply to most experienced shavers, or does anyone actually press down? I'm still new to De shaving and feel the need to press down in certain area's like my lip but I don't.Love to hear comments on this.

never-stop-learning

Demoted To Moderator
Staff member
That's certainly the goal with most razors - especially aggressive razors.

It is a lession that I'll keep learning until I 'get it'. ;)

Hmm it's just something people say. It totally depends on exposure. Mild razors with negative exposure require some pressure. Conversely, a heavy razor with positive exposure may actually require you to lift the razor to offset gravity depending on its orientation, eg when shaving the top of your head. Try letting a Timeless Bronze OC do the work on top of your skull and see what I mean.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

Last edited:
It is easier with a heavier and well-balanced razor and not that easy with a lightweight razor. I started with a Merkur 23C (not heavy) and struggled. I changed to a Rockwell 6S and it got significantly easier.

My recommendation is to keep going and to try to feel the feedback of your skin. If I apply too much pressure alum really burns and my skin is really red for a while.

keep going! and keep in mind that everybody had the same issues at least if changing from cartridge razor shaving.
Mycroft