What's new

Does anyone else have trouble with magical disappearing soap?

Let me preface this by saying I have been wetshaving for many years and am not a newbie. I regularly use the following soaps with no problem whatsoever (face latherer btw); Mike's, SCS, Groom Room, Tabac, Mama's, WM Neumann and C & E.

I have a nemesis in Mystic Water shaving soaps. No matter what I try my lather eventually disappears. I just can't seem to find a happy medium. Semi dry brush, wet brush, bowl lather, face lather, load brush for 30 seconds, load for 60 seconds, reload and reload etc..................

Was wondering if anyone else experiences this. I would love for my Houdini skills to vanish and my lather to stay, but am getting a little discouraged. I love MW's scents (especially lotv), but I'm starting to feel that I'm wasting my time.

Toothpick

Needs milk and a bidet!
Staff member
I have no experience with Mystic Water soaps myself. Hopefully someone will come along that does.

Perhaps they use olive oil as a first ingredient? I found out a while back that olive oil is a lather killer.

No she doesn't use olive oil in her soaps. A lot of people have the same problem. I have two of her soaps and they take some work to get great lather but it's worth it for me.

I use the Marco method and it works fine, but I shake the brush out ,just barley, a few times though. For me it takes longer than most of my other soaps to build a nice stable lather, but like I said it's worth it.

It works for me.

I use tepid water on the puck and brush, then I shake most of the water out of my brush, I load horizontally for about a minute letting the excess water and runny lather drip into the sink, after that I face lather starting with circular motions and ending with painting strokes as the lather thickens up.