What's new

Do you revisit blades that previously didn't work for you?

I have revisited blades that haven't worked. Not because of technique (I'm not a newbie) but most likely because the blade stinks or simply doesn't work with my skin. I stopped doing that at a certain point because I came to a realization: If it doesn't work for me the first time, it'll never work for me!
YMMV!

I have relatively few different blades - but still quite a lot (who am I kidding). I do revisit blades and glad I do. As @ivan_101 said the razor-blade combination matters a lot and I believe technique is a factor as well.

I have had number of bad shaves with the Gillette Black, but revisited the blade and instead of the 4-5 ish mediocre shaves I got stellar shave instead. Was the first one a dud? The second one a unicorn? Only one way to find out!

You have a handsome list of blades tried. My suggestion (but YMMV) would be to use the same razor and soap for a week together with a blade of choice. This assists you not only in your technique but also in deciding if the blade is something for you or not (and if it fits to your razor of choice). And sometimes you discover a wonderful blade by happenstance. The Dorco Titan was that for me.

Enjoy!

Guido

I have relatively few different blades - but still quite a lot (who am I kidding). I do revisit blades and glad I do. As @ivan_101 said the razor-blade combination matters a lot and I believe technique is a factor as well.

I have had number of bad shaves with the Gillette Black, but revisited the blade and instead of the 4-5 ish mediocre shaves I got stellar shave instead. Was the first one a dud? The second one a unicorn? Only one way to find out!