What's new

Do You Ever Get to the Point I'll Pass, I Don't Need It?

All I can say to us retired guys is:

You worked your butt off your whole life, in most cases sacrificing your wants to provide for your family. Enjoy your shave gear, without feeling guilty. You earned it and it won't break the bank. Even in retirement, we're still helping our kids and grandkids keep afloat since Covid, but we still need our small luxuries to keep sane.

Phoenixkh

I shaved a fortune
All I can say to us retired guys is:

You worked your butt off your whole life, in most cases sacrificing your wants to provide for your family. Enjoy your shave gear, without feeling guilty. You earned it and it won't break the bank. Even in retirement, we're still helping our kids and grandkids keep afloat since Covid, but we still need our small luxuries to keep sane.
I couldn't agree more..... My problem is my main hobby is way more expensive than shaving... Photography. I'm a wildlife photographer (hobbiest, not professional). I have the best gear I can afford at the moment... but I'm saving up for a pretty significant expenditure. It will take me a couple years to get the funds saved.

I couldn't agree more..... My problem is my main hobby is way more expensive than shaving... Photography.

Unfortunately, photography was a luxury I could never afford. After our first daughter was born in late 1970, the best camera I could afford was a Canon Powershot G5 using slide film. It wasn't SLR, so I was limited. A couple years later, I got into shooting infrared film with a yellow lens. That was cool, but my wife nixed me shooting our daughter with infrared, because she looked like a monster. My best photo from that period, which I still have framed on a wall, was an infrared shot of the Belle of Louisville around 1972. Stopping down on a bright sunny day, it looks like it was taken at night. There are clouds in the dark sky. but all the red trim on the boat and paddle-wheel is gold.

Last edited: