What's new

Do carbon steel blades smooth out over time?

I bought my first packs of carbon steel blades last week and I feel like the first shave was somewhat tuggy but acceptable, then subsequent shaves felt much smoother. I also palm strop it so I suppose that helps. Was just wondering if carbon steel blades smooth out over the course of several shaves and I was also wondering what kind of longevity I can expect.

The only other time I've used a carbon blade was a Gillette THIN and while it was a very nice shave, I didn't give it time to smooth out because I assumed it was too old to have any integrity left in the edge (perhaps a bit premature of me.)

The blades I purchased are the Kai spineless single edge blades E39-7C.

Thanks!

My experience is similar. Must say that I prefer stainless blades, so I am no expert on carbon steel.

I bought my first packs of carbon steel blades last week and I feel like the first shave was somewhat tuggy but acceptable, then subsequent shaves felt much smoother. I also palm strop it so I suppose that helps. Was just wondering if carbon steel blades smooth out over the course of several shaves and I was also wondering what kind of longevity I can expect.

The only other time I've used a carbon blade was a Gillette THIN and while it was a very nice shave, I didn't give it time to smooth out because I assumed it was too old to have any integrity left in the edge (perhaps a bit premature of me.)

The blades I purchased are the Kai spineless single edge blades E39-7C.

Thanks!

I like the second shave from a Feather blade,
better than the first.

Some blades are like that. I'd be hard pressed to say it was a metal type sort of thing.

I like Treet Classics, but anymore than 2 shaves (for me) yields tugging. First and second shaves are decent.

With Gem Carbon Steel blades, they start off tuggy for me and only gets worse.

That's the extent of my experience with carbon steel.

Well, I just discovered something pretty amazing...