What's new

DIY Spray Deodorant

I just wanted to share what I've found to be an effective homemade deodorant. My first batch/bottle was made in April, and I just made my second over the weekend.

I posted about this in another thread too:

Up front, here's my simple recipe:
60 ml Everclear 151
5 ml Witch hazel
5 ml 'old' cologne

I wanted a mixture that would kill bacteria but be safe for skin. I had a spray deodorant from Nancy Boy products, and tried to model off that (i.e. reading the ingredient list). I chose ethanol because I read (on the internet, so, yeah) that it was better for repeated skin use than isopropyl. Better is a vague term, but I think better really meant 'less irritation'.

Lots of sites give ideas about how to use essential oils too. I chose old cologne for two reasons: (1) I have a decent amount of leftover cologne from the 90s, and (2) cologne was definitely made to be applied on skin.

About the ratios: I am no expert. I used this as my guide:

In the future, I will probably use Everclear 190, which will give me the opportunity to add some other things (perhaps just more witch hazel, or perhaps some hops which Nancy Boy uses and appears to be beneficial). Why did I use Everclear 151? Because that's what I had (and still have) in the house. It makes a great simple hand sanitizer too (a teachable moment from COVID-times) (but nowhere as cheap as isopropyl now).

Anyway, if you want to make your own spray deodorant, if only as an option, I hope this helps. Happy spraying!

FarmerTan

"Self appointed king of Arkoland"
Also, here are the spray bottles I use:

I also use them as cheap, refillable hand sanitizer spray bottles by putting isopropyl alcohol in them (we have them in our cars). Sorry Purell.
I think I am going to try my hand at this! We use those bottles for air freshener that my wife makes with witch hazel and essential oils....

Thanks for the information my friend!