What's new

Disposing of used blades

This is my set-up for blade disposal.
It is an empty tin can of Milk about 6 inches high.

I'm new to wet shaving, so I don't know how long it will take to fill this can, but I'm guessing more than 2 years atleast.

I cut a long hole with my safety knife saw and then put Araldite sealant to eliminate any sharp edges.

This is kept in the lower drawer of almirah and everyone in my home knows that it contains discarded blades.

It'll be given to the junk yard/ recycling shop for free of cost where he will melt it to reuse.
Blade Disposal.jpeg

Most everyone has had a small container from an Alum bar that they've finished... Just cut a slot in the end and when its full tape it up, label it, and recycle it... I think I've been using this one for almost 3yrs now. These pics were taken almost 2yrs ago so it should be sometime this year to fill it completely.
Blade bank 1.jpg
Blade bank 2.jpg

Finished? Mine looks like it will last 20 years. That is unless I drop it.
I've been through like 4 of them since 2016!! I will add that I was never using them correctly and 1 broke in half on me. My current one has been going for well over a year now and should last till late in the year this year I'm assuming. I used to put it back in the case wet and that seems to have degraded the bar considerably. I now use only 1 side after a hot water rinse and I pat the bar dry and flip it in the box for the next shave. I also have a vegetable rubber band around it to keep it from slipping in my fingers and possible dropping...