What's new

Didn't like RR Hawks. Will I also dislike Feather AC SR?

I've been shaving with DE and SE razors for the last 3-4 years. I tried Hawk v2 and v3, but didn't like the shave I got from AC blades. The ProGuard was too tuggy, while Pro and ProSuper were pretty uneven, leaving my skin hot red in some spots and a lot of stubble on my neck after ATG where I usually have issues with DE blades too. I usually get this with DE razors that are not efficient enough for me, so it could be that the Hawks were too mild for my whiskers. I have the infamous growth on the neck where the hairs lie flat on the skin and grow in weird directions.

Anyway, I would like to get Feather SR, but because of my experience with hawks I'm now worried my skin just doesn't like the AC format. Any thoughts on this?

I could diagnose the problem you are having with the Hawk, but that is not what you are asking about so I will stick to the blades. One thing to keep in mind is any form of open blade shaving is done at a much lower angle than most safety razors. It is very difficult to transfer conclusions about blades over to a different format entirely. I use Pro Supers in my DX. I have had an SR.

The general recommendation is to get one of the knockoff Kai AC razors for $20 and try it out! You will have a learning curve.

I could diagnose the problem you are having with the Hawk, but that is not what you are asking about so I will stick to the blades. One thing to keep in mind is any form of open blade shaving is done at a much lower angle than most safety razors. It is very difficult to transfer conclusions about blades over to a different format entirely. I use Pro Supers in my DX. I have had an SR.

The general recommendation is to get one of the knockoff Kai AC razors for $20 and try it out! You will have a learning curve.