What's new

Derby Razor Blade....I wanted to love you....

...but for right now I just like you. Ok, so I am a relative newbie to wetshaving (almost 2 months now). Picked up a Merkur HD and a pack of Merkur Platinum Blades. I have to say that I loved the quality of the shaves I was getting with that set-up. However, more than a few people around here recommended the LetterK sampler pack to the new guys. So I placed my first order around a week and a half ago and received them promptly at my parents house (where I was travelling for Thanksgiving).

After having used only the Merkur blades, I decided to give the Swedish Gillettes a turn last week for my Thanksgiving shaves. I gotta say that I love how they work, but I digress.

Today I decided to give the Derbys a go. Got up nice and early, and warmed up my shaving mug and brush while I took a nice hot shower. Loaded in the Derby and then lathered up with some Taylor's Rose.

I was all ready and very excited since a lot of people around here seem to be big Derby fans. However, I must say that it didn't work out so well for me this morning. With the Merkurs and especially the Gillettes I got some very nice and consistent BBS shaves with two passes (N-S, E-W) with no irritation, razor burns or cuts. It wasn't to be with the Derby today. :frown:

I found the shave to be somewhat inconsistent, meaning that I was not getting an even cut. I also got my first cut today, although I am fairly certain my technique was the same. It took me more than 2 passes to get a good, clean shave. On a high note, when I was finished I found that I probably had one of the best BBS shaves that I had, however, it took a little longer and more work to get there. And my face is a little more irritated because I had to make so many passes.