What's new

Derby Extra, better than I remember

This morning I thought it might be a good idea to try a Derby Extra blade.
I have not used Derby Extra in a few years and I remember that they were anything but sharp.

I whipped a nice lather with Palmolive Sensitive Cream,
I loaded my Gillette Flair Tip with a Derby Extra and started shaving.

Three passes and one of the most comfortable shaves ever.
First pass, WTG, and I wondered if I forgot the blade? No blade feel at all, just a smooth shave all over my face and neck.
After the first pass my face and neck was not as smooth and clean as when I shave with Astra SS or Lord Silver Star.

Second pass, XTG, was just as comfortable, the razor just glided totally effortless over my face, lovely...

Third pass, ATG, was one of the most comfortable ATG pass I ever had.
No nicks, no weepers, no tugging, no dragging, just a nice silky smooth shave.

The result was not a BBS but a really nice DFS.

I remember liking Derby when I was a noob, but then they were not sharp enough...
I have used Derby Extra in my Shavettes with mixed results, but it's been some years since I used them in a DE razor.

I can not remember Derby Extra being so incredible smooth and comfortable.
I think I will order some Derby Extra again :biggrin1:

Mike M

...but this one IS cracked.
Derby actually make good smooth blades, but their reputation as a noob blade leads people to avoid them later when they are more experienced. I like the smoothness and still use them occasionally (although I prefer the Derby premium which last longer). I think part of it is that people tend to make their noob mistakes using Derby's and that gives them bad memories of the blades.

ajkel64

Check Out Chick
Staff member
Thanks for sharing your thoughts on these blades. I think I might have some here somewhere. Might have to find them and give them a try in the not to distant future.

How long ago were you a noob?