What's new

Decanting aftershaves

I've decanted Clubman into glass before and had excellent results, but sadly the bottle didn't hold the liquid securely enough and it evaporated, forcing me to re-cant it back into the original plastic bottle until I found something better. Just today I bought two wine bottle-sized glass bottles with cork stoppers that are quite tight. Washed them out and decanted the Clubman back into the glass - the weird thing there is the difference was almost immediately perceptible. Right from the glass bottle mere moments after decanting, it just smelled 100% better, softer, more powdery and generally more mellow.

In the other bottle I decanted 2 bottles of the Veg. These are recently purchased in the 12.5 oz size plastic. This is my first time decanting Veg into glass, so I'm hopeful the transition yields a similar result as the Clubman. I firmly believe the plastic bottle is the real issue with the Veg, not the actual fragrance itself. I so often see - and I know you guys do, too - how people have bad reactions to their first sniff of this particular Pinaud from the bottle, and usually when using it from plastic people don't smell an improvement after its been splashed on their face. The plastic just leeches and adds this urine-like element that puts people off. But after using some vintage Veg in glass, I figured it might be worth seeing if the newer formula smells better in glass.

I've decanted Clubman into glass before and had excellent results...mere moments after decanting, it just smelled 100% better, softer, more powdery and generally more mellow.
...This is my first time decanting Veg...I firmly believe the plastic bottle is the real issue...
It's true!
Decades ago, all of the Pinaud line were re-formulated specifically for the transition to plastic bottles.
Still, the results were disappointing, especially with Lilac Vegetal.
Vintage glass-bottled Veg remains superior, and even modern Veg benefits from decanting into glass.