What's new

Dear Soap Makers - A letter from a new DE shaver

Dear Soap Makers,

I am still very new to the world of wet shaving and DE razors. However, for the last two and a half months, I've been on a wonderful journey of discovery that has opened the door to a new hobby that I tremendously enjoy, and plan on actively embracing and participating in for the forseeable future.

I understand that I still have a lot to learn, but I've come a long way in a short amount of time, and gained knowledge and experience, and have begun to build a base of understanding my own personal preferences for the tools of the trade, and a fine appreciation of the concept of "YMMV".

In this time, one of the things I have enjoyed the most has been experiencing the different soaps, both as implements to improving the actual mechanical shaving process, but mostly through the aesthetic experience of the various scents.

I realize it's only a small fraction of the available products, but I've tried 17 different soaps from 5 different manufacturers. Most have been extremely pleasant and enjoyable. A few have been extraordinary. A couple have been absolutely rank, in my opinion.

Which brings me to the point of this open letter - I enjoy trying new soaps. I have a long wish list of soaps that intrigue me, and I look forward to trying. However, the economic reality is that I don't possess the resources to immediately purchase them all outright, therefore I must carefully decide the priority of my purchase. Also, weighing heavily on the back of my mind is the possibility that I may make a significant investment in a product only to find it unappealing, only to be used once or twice, then relegated to the back of the cupboard (I exaggerate, as I would gladly trade or PIF, as I'm sure there's someone out there who would enjoy and use it).

SO WHY IS IT SO HARD FOR ME TO GET A SAMPLE OF YOUR SOAP?!?!?!?