What's new

DE89 vs 34C vs SLOC vs R41 (Warning: Long Post)

If you like the R41 a vintage gillette super speed Red Tip could be a nice companion for it.

HTH
godek

Very nice, informative, and orderly post! Glad to see you are getting good shaves with that Mühle. I’m also looking to step up the aggression with an open comb.

I have practically the same type of whiskers and skin as yourself with the exception that I must give myself a break by shaving every other day. I also found the DE89 and 34c pretty useless at cutting through my stubble and have been using a Maggard V3A which is probably closer to your SLOC than the R41 is.

Great Post and hope you the best in getting closer shaves!

Intro

I'm still new to wet shaving, with around 35 shaves under my belt, and like many others I started with a mild razor and a mild blade. The experience has already been miles better than the 35 years of cartridges and electrics I endured before it, and the rabbit hole I've fallen into has proven to be both cozy and fun, if not increasingly costly.

In the past month I've added several razors, most of the Proraso soaps and creams, a few nostalgic after shaves, and enough sample blades to keep me going for months. More new stuff is currently en route, and my wish list is growing daily. It's enough to make anyone's head spin.

It's been a blast, but all the equipment swapping started me wondering which products were really working best for me, so this week I decided to revisit my razors in an orderly fashion. I gave each razor its own day while keeping everything else the same for every shave, and figured I'd share my thoughts here.

My Beard