What's new

D5100 Upgrade for focus?

Hi everyone,

I am a very amateur photographer with a d5100... and a toddler! I am finding that I am missing several shots by having focus somewhere else besides the subject.

Would a newer body with more focus points help this, or am I the problem, lol? I do not know if going from 11 focus points to 39 on a d5600 for example would help?

Maybe my settings are wrong, I don't know, but I end up having a sharp sleeve, or twig, or tree, versus an sharp face or eye in a otherwise nice shot. It is very frustrating!

I think you most likely just need to hone your skills with a bit more practice. Try to use different focus settings. Pinpoint is probably what you want, but try them all and just keep shooting. You're using digital storage so no big deal to delete the bad shots. No one has to know how many shots it took they will just see the keepers.

Also are you sure it's out of focus, and not motion blur? To slow of a shutter speed may blur a moving toddler and leave the background sharp. Sometimes this can be confused for out of focus, especially if i't just barely to slow and doesn't show a lot of motion.

I have been using aperture priority mode mainly.

I think it's the focus because I will miss the face but have a razor sharp shirt or hand. Sometime a middle ground tree or pole will be razor sharp and everything else will have that nice backround blur, including his face

Having said that, I'm sure my skills need to improve. I just can't help but wonder if the pinpoints in aperture priority mode on a newer body with more focus point would be more accurate than on my body? (Please note I would much rather ME be the problem to save myself the cost of a new body!)☺

seabee1999

On the lookout for new chicks