What's new

Cricket question

I am just getting into cricket due to one of my favorite YouTubers doing a couple breakdowns on it. Being American cricket is not really a major sport on this side of the pond. You have any good YouTube channels to follow regarding full rules and nuances of the game please send those along. The next large down time I get I'm going to watch a full international instead of just a short clips.

Three questions

Does the bowler have to bounce the ball a certain distance away from the wickets when bowling?

What is the penalty if he should ever not bounce it?

If the bowler bowls, it misses the wickets, the batsman swings and misses but the ball was deemed hitable. What is that considered and what happens next?

All of the quick clips that I've been watching have a result either for the bowler or the batsman, so I really need to watch a full test to understand.

Legion

Staff member
Not a cricket fan, but here goes.

The ball should bounce, but does not have to (full toss). If it bounces that allows for many more options, re. spin, etc.

The distance is not regulated, but cant bounce above the batsman's waist. No beaning the batsman in the head.

If the ball is not hit and misses the wicket the game continues, and it is bowled again

Watch one day cricket to pick up the rules without being bored into a coma. Test matches are for those who enjoy watching seagulls while they get drunk on warm beer.

I'm sure a cricket expert (rather than someone who was forced to play it at school) will chime in with corrections or clarification.

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod