What's new

Couple questions for y'all

1. So a warm water/towel treatment on one's face during the pre-shave process softens skin, opens pores, and probably something else I'm forgetting. How does the chilling effect of mentholated products work with that? For, against, or neutral?

2. What's the purpose of alcohol in some aftershave products? Alcohol tends to dry things out, right? I prefer a nice, moist smoothness to my skin once the aftershave treatment kicks in. I'm wondering about this since I'm looking at a few splashes, been working with Stirling and Nivea balms since I started shaving.
That and I'm considering cooking up a batch of menthol additives myself once my bottle of Stirling's Frost Drops runs out. There was a mention around here of mixing crushed menthol crystals and vodka/grain alcohol.
Thanks

I'm no expert but I'll give my experience.

1. I usually shower prior to shaving. I may wash my face with a face wash but I prefer to do that at night and just rinse my face off in the morning with hot water. Holding hot water on the face either through the towel or shower or just splashing the face helps to hydrate the facial hair and skin. This softens it and makes it easier to cut. Menthol does not work against this as it does not actually reduce the temperature of the skin, just makes it feel cold. You may react to menthol and find it irritating but overall, it shouldn't work against preshave. Personally, I don't find I need to do anything miraculous and have been having better shaves prior to showering recently. Just splash hot water on the face, rub it in and carry on.