What's new

Couple of questions on stones

Have not used straight razor in years.
I currently have a Norton 4k/8k ,lapping stone, dia sharp coarse ( I believe about 220 grit and an unidentified very fine stone,certainly finer than the 8 k.

Is the diasharp "too coarse" to set bevel? Better to get a 1k for bevel set?

Some say to soak the 8k Norton yet others say not necessary just a spray bottle. Thoughts on this?

Lastly, I see settting bevel some use back and forth stroke whereas others flip the razor and go only one direction. Is either "better" ?

I imagine when going to 4k/8k only one direction or in an effort to cut down on time can I go back and forth and just one direction for last few strokes ?
As I mentioned it's been years and now everybody on Youtube seems to be an expert.
I appreciate the help.

I’m about 8 months into learning, so grain of salt. I’m no expert, but I have recently overcome some frustrations/issues you’re about to tackle. FWIW, I’ve sharpened kitchen knives for a while and have experience with how metal and abrasives behave in general.

220 seems very coarse. I think you’ll spend ages removing those scratches, especially without anything between 220 and 4k. A 1k would allow you to set a bevel, or clean 220 scratches if you wanted to bevel set with 220. Either way, you probably want one.

If you work a knife in “scrubbing” strokes, the edge trailing stroke will draw the apex into a burr/wire. Due to steels ductility. You need to remove that burr (either through wash rinse repeat coarse stropping and edge leading strokes or by jointing the edge and then going to edge leading). That’s just really how metal behaves when it meets abrasive.