What's new

Considering switching my fall half to a full marathon

I've been running for several years, always focusing on the half marathon, but after a terrible, terrible year of training, I have absolutely no chance of pulling a PR this fall at the half I always run in November. I've been throwing around the idea of running my first full marathon. I know my time wouldn't be great, but considering it's a new distance, I would be happy with a decent time and wouldn't be so hung up on trying to beat a tough PR.

Thoughts? I'd have 21 weeks to get my training in order.

Thanks all!

Out of curiosity, what is your PR? I'd think that 21 weeks is enough time to get yourself ready to PR in the, as long as you are healthy.

What do you mean by a terrible year of training? Do you have any base? If you can run 10 easily now, even if slowly, 21 weeks is plenty to work up to a full marathon. If your top run is 3 miles, it would be tough to get into shape for an enjoyable marathon in 21 weeks.

Out of curiosity, what is your PR? I'd think that 21 weeks is enough time to get yourself ready to PR in the, as long as you are healthy.

1:35:00 is my PR for the half. I'm completely out of shape now. I don't know if I could break 25 mins for a 5k now. I know I wouldn't be sub 24 for that distance. I'm coming off injuries. Achilles and a fallen arch/posterior tibial tendon stuff. I could be wrong, but my gut tells me there's no way I'll beat that pace this year. I ran that PR in the fall of 2012. I was injured last fall, so I paced my nephew and just jogged a 2 hour race just to help the guy get across the line.

I'm currently signed up for a half and if a friend signed up for it, I'd just pace them at that distance (the half) and I've contacted the race director about being a pacer, if I can pace the race, I will do that. I love pacing.

Last edited: