What's new

Considering spyderco

For one I'm a huge fan of his work via Martial Blade Concepts. I have 2 Kershaw's but after finding out they are outsourced to china, it admittedly loses some of the appeal.

I'm just getting into knives after considering that my Glock my not be the best defense in every situation, so if anyone would want to drop some knowledge on a newb I'd be grateful.

I own a Tenacious and they are decent knives. They are, however, China made which probably won't appeal to you either. Spyderco does make knives that are USA, Japan and Thailand made with a wide range of prices that will fit most budgets.

As far as getting a knife for self defense? I can't envision a scenario where I would pick a knife over a gun. If I'm in need of pulling a knife, I'd probably be justified in pulling the gun instead. I could see using something like OC ( pepper spray ) so you might want to look into getting something like that.

In the end, and this is just my opinion YMMV, but I would buy a knife based on EDC needs, and pick up something different for back up or a less than lethal option.

I own a Tenacious and they are decent knives. They are, however, China made which probably won't appeal to you either. Spyderco does make knives that are USA, Japan and Thailand made with a wide range of prices that will fit most budgets.

As far as getting a knife for self defense? I can't envision a scenario where I would pick a knife over a gun. If I'm in need of pulling a knife, I'd probably be justified in pulling the gun instead. I could see using something like OC ( pepper spray ) so you might want to look into getting something like that.

In the end, and this is just my opinion YMMV, but I would buy a knife based on EDC needs, and pick up something different for back up or a less than lethal option.

There are situations (formal, family, etc) where I can't carry concealed. Should the event present itself, I always have a knife on me.