What's new

Considering a custom

I was recently admiring my modest brush rotation (3 badgers, from Simpson, EJ, and Shavemac), and said to myself "Self, that's a nice collection...you have all the brushes you need."

Then I saw the recent "Wolf Whiskers Parade" thread, and poked around the WW site. [cue loud sucking sound]

I then said to myself "Self, you fool...you NEED another brush!"

Then, recalling all the posts about custom brushes here on B&B, I got to thinking (always dangerous, but especially under the influence of AD), and I'd like some advice from y'all.

I guess I want (er...NEED...) another brush, a custom one, and I see a number of options:

• Wolf Whiskers
  • Whipped Dog
  • Rudy Vey
  • others?

I would appreciate brief "contrast and compare" from people who have acquired any/all of these. I'd be interested in:

• appearance/workmanship
  • selection
  • value
  • performance
  • customer service
  • overall impressions/satisfaction

As a recovering engineer, I will of course analyze this to death, digging into websites, poring over threads here on B&B, creating spreadsheets, etc.

But I believe some summaries would be very valuable -- to all brushaholics, not just me. Another chance for enthusiastic -- and informative -- discussion.

Thoughts?

I have a wd and in the process of ww.I can narrow it down to 2. Ww and vey. I don't think wd is very custom or rather custom enough. I can't speak for vey. I haven't dealt with him but like you I'm sure, I've seen his work and it's top notch. Wolf is extremely good to work with though, thorough, responsive, helpful, and im sure you've seen his work too. I hear the same for vey of course.

I have greatly enjoyed Doug Korn's handles. He can turn any shape of handle you would like and he offers a large selection of rods to choose from.
He does wonderful work and he is great to correspond with.

Here are some examples: