What's new

Conditioning Stone - How To Use It?

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
I have what I believe is referred to as a conditioning stone. I understand that it is applied to a whetstone when the whetstone glazes up.

My question is, how do I apply it to the glazed up whetstone?

IMG_20210713_152753.jpg
I assume that it is used to remove the glazed effect on the whetstone.

I have what I believe is referred to as a conditioning stone. I understand that it is applied to a whetstone when the whetstone glazes up.

My question is, how do I apply it to the glazed up whetstone?

I assume that it is used to remove the glazed effect on the whetstone.
I am not familiar with a conditioning stone. If it is used to remove the glaze on a whetstone I would wet both and do tiny circles with it on your whetstone. But I am only guessing. Would lapping on a diamond stone do the same? Take my advice with a grain of salt, I have no experience with this.

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
I am not familiar with a conditioning stone. If it is used to remove the glaze on a whetstone I would wet both and do tiny circles with it on your whetstone. But I am only guessing. Would lapping on a diamond stone do the same? Take my advice with a grain of salt, I have no experience with this.
Unfortunately I don't have a diamond stone. I am also totally unfamiliar with how to use a correction stone.

These are often used on synthetics when they clog up with swarf, or on any stone when it stops cutting efficiently. All you have to do is rub it on the base stone until the swarf goes away, or until the base stone's surface is "refreshed" or not glazed over anymore so it can cut better. Yes a diamond plate does the same thing but more effectively.