What's new

Coffee Roasters

I know some of you roast and grind your own coffee. How about sharing some experiences, successes, failures, etc. I've been roasting for a couple of years using a hot-air popcorn popper. Great fun and great coffee!

The History Channel just had a show on tonight about coffee! Part of the show dealt with the roasting process, as well as other details about coffee.

www.coffeegeek.com

I don't roast myself -- leave that to the professional roasters.

I do have a Mazzer grinder (not cheap) -- the same manufacturer that used to supply Starbucks before they downgraded all their machines. It is brilliant, does the job perfectly. It is a grinder for life, built like a tank. I will probably need to replace the burrs after about 20 years of domestic service!

ouch

Stjynnkii membörd dummpsjterd
The History Channel just had a show on tonight about coffee! Part of the show dealt with the roasting process, as well as other details about coffee.

Caught it. Excellent show. Fell asleep when they mentioned a very expensive coffee made from beans crapped out of some exotic animal. Thought I was hallucinating. Was I? :confused:

ouch

What's next? Recycled beer? :lol:

Does anyone use a vacuum brewer for their coffee? I'm interesting in trying one out.

I enjoy roasting coffee on a little Fresh Roast 8 which is a hot air roaster. Its a neat little machine kind of like a hot air popcorn popper. It does a great job roasting small batches of coffee. I like to make espresso and cappucino on the weekends. Plus buying green coffee beans is cheap like DE blades vs. cartridges and the green beans keep for a long time.