What's new

Coffee noob here

Thanks folks, you have done it yet again. First shaving, then tea, and now coffee. At this rate I'll need to win the lottery to keep financing my addicti--er, hobbies. Yeah, hobbies. :001_rolle

For a while now I've been a little bit curious about the variety of coffee descriptions you fine folks have been going on about, but recent changes at work have given me the incentive to seek stronger mugs of caffeine than my tea can provide.

So far I haven't tried a ton of it, but I have already come to the conclusion that it doesn't have to be that awful, bitter, burnt cup of gross that I tried as a young teen, courtesy of my dad. On a related note, I quickly learned that less-than-fresh dark roasts are not something that I enjoy. I haven't bothered to try a truly fresh dark roast, but I'm fairly confident that I won't miss much by sticking to lighter roasts for now. Peet's Big Bang (a medium roast) is my current favorite, but I still take it with quite a bit of milk and sugar, so I'm on the hunt for something that I can drink black, or at least close to it.

I'm not terribly keen on paying the price for freshly roasted beans, considering how fast one can go through a 12 oz bag. But, as luck would have it, I have access to a Fresh Roast SR500. It may not be the finest roaster on the market, but it is dead simple to operate and free use of it makes for a pretty good deal. I guess this leads to my first real question: what green beans would you folks recommend? I'm not too sure of which flavors I would enjoy yet. My biggest concern would be maximized sweetness and minimized bitterness, since I have a major sweet tooth. I think I would prefer fewer, more distinct notes rather than a complex and delicate blend of flavors. I've already found the single origins to be less irritating to roast (the only blend I've tried so far had some beans just barely turning from yellow to brown at the same time others were just shy of a French roast).