What's new

Coating razors with Tungsten DLC

Has anyone tried to have a razor coated in black Tungsten DLC? I have no experience in this area so I don't know how expensive it might be, if someone can even have it done privately, or if it's even feasible. Being an owner of Tungsten DLC combat knives, I've wondered if the coating could be applied to a vintage razor. I think it would definitely be a cool way to refurbish an old blade. Any thoughts?

My understanding is these coatings are applied using pretty high heat which may not be good for a razor and then if you apply it to the entire razor how will you hone it and how will the coating affect the edge. if you only apply it to the razor excluding the edge I don't see the advantage to it.

I've seen DLC applied to watch cases and its pretty expensive.

if you only apply it to the razor excluding the edge I don't see the advantage to it.

The only "advantage" I could see would be some above average rust/corrosion protection, and better scratch resistance. However, I agree, the coating definitely wouldn't provide much more than aesthetic value. I just haven't yet seen a razor with a tungsten DLC coating, and since there are so many knives with it I'm asking, "Why not a razor?"

The scales of razors have always been made with exotic materials, and the blades commonly receive complicated engraving or goldwashes etc. I don't know to much about the history of blade coatings but I'm assuming that by the time tungsten DLC was created straight razors had already lost popularity. If straight razors were still in their heyday right now, I wonder whether or not modern blade steel treatments, such as Tungsten DLC, would be applied to some.

Anyone have some thoughts?

I have some experience of this, having been a Tungsten carbide toolkmaker for many years, although I am by no means an expert on the coating.