What's new

Classic Hairstyle question for the Barbers on here💈

F5A707B5-A197-4DC2-A32B-1BF37F899B63.jpeg
I recently changed barbers after my barber for 7 years moved out of state. I have been sporting a classic side part style for several years now with the top kept longer so I can slick it back neatly with pomade. My new barber asked me if I was set on having my hair length graduated longer as it nears the part. I really didn’t know how to answer him on this other than to tell him it’s cut that way so I can easily find my part in the morning when I’m combing it. His comment was he likes to cut it a bit shorter where the part begins so you change up where your form the part if you like. Is this a common practice? I alway though you need the extra length where the part begins to get it to properly lay over. Any thoughts on this???

I am with you on this one, I have honestly never heard about making it shorter at the part. What I have heard of, commonly, is using a razor down to skin to define the part. With the hair left long, you could easily change your part to cover it up and also find it by slicking your hair back with a coarse comb. My rule of thumb is usually "what will this look like as it grows back?" I wouldn't want a bunch of small hairs that will stand straight up in two weeks if I am understanding what he is getting at.

As an aside, sometimes these things are a test whether you trust the barber. Maybe unintentional, but they like to sound like the professional. I went back to cutting my own hair after trying to be diplomatic and feeling like "hey, I am the customer."

Edit: not a professional, some training, a lot of years cutting, constantly keeping up on what's new