What's new

CHESS

I had an app called Magnus, I think, where I learned some basic strategies (I really never played strategically before and consequently only ever defeated my children). I'm still not very good, but it was a decent start.

Eben Stone

Staff member
I go through phases where I'm temporarily obsessed with *trying* a game. About a year ago it was chess. Then it was Sudoku. Currently I'm in a calm before the storm.

I tried maybe 10 or 20 chess apps for Android and never really found one that was awesome.

I did like "Chess Tactics for Beginners". It gives you a pre-composed small section of the board to play with. I though it was a neat idea.

I didn't dedicate myself to learning chess so I still suck at it.

Not a complete newb, but I am looking to delve further. Can anyone recommend a good (free) app for phone play? Books will come later, but I want something to noodle about with.
Loves me some chess. For Android check out the "Chess - Play and Learn" or "Chess Coach" apps. Neither is perfect but neither is playing chess on a phone, in my opinion. If you're an iPhone user I can't really be of help.

Owen Bawn

Garden party cupcake scented
I still play a 1980s Chess Challenger 9 electronic chess game. I win more than I lose, but it still beats me fairly often, and that's after having the machine for over 30 years. I'm not real good. My daughter never beat me until she returned home from her junior college year in India where she lived with someone who played at the master level. Now she slays me at will.

Can’t help you with apps, as I’m not a player. But I’d encourage everyone with Netflix access to watch “The Queen’s Gambit”, a recent miniseries centered on a fictional chess player. The game, and the psychology of the game, are featured prominently. And the cinematography, lighting, acting, and 60’s fashion are all fantastic.

Thanks, Bob!